Friday, March 27, 2020

APPAM Virtual Happy Hour 4/3

Join Sherry Glied, Dean NYU/Wagner School and Kosali Simon, Associate Provost for Health Sciences at Indiana University/SPEA in this virtual happy hour. Policy talk, optional!

Peter H. Rossi

APPAM & UMD School of Public Policy Announce Rossi Winner

September 2, 2016 08:43 AM

The Rossi Award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi

WASHINGTON, DC (September 2, 2016)—The Association of Public Policy and Management (APPAM) and the University of Maryland’s School of Public Policy are pleased to announce that Rudolph Penner, Ph.D., Robert Reischauer, Ph.D., and Alice Rivlin, Ph.D. have been jointly selected as the 2016 winner(s) of the Peter H. Rossi Award.

“We are delighted to make this award to three outstanding individuals who, collectively, established the standards under which the Congressional Budget Office still operates and, in doing so, created a firm foundation of independence and evidence-based objectivity,” says Douglas J. Besharov, chair of the award’s selection committee. “Individually, as well, they have made numerous powerful and sustained contributions to program evaluation, policy-analysis, and policy-making.”

Rudolph Penner, Ph.D., is an Institute Fellow at the Urban Institute. Before joining Urban, he was a managing director of the Barents Group, a KPMG Company. Penner directed the Congressional Budget Office from 1983 to 1987 and was a resident scholar at the American Enterprise Institute from 1977 to 1983. His previous posts in government include assistant director for economic policy at the Office of Management and Budget, deputy assistant secretary for economic affairs at the Department of Housing and Urban Development, and senior staff economist at the Council of Economic Advisers. Penner was elected president of the American Tax Policy Institute in 2005 and is past president of the National Economists Club. He is on the boards of MDRC, the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget, and Fix the Debt. He is also on the advisory committee for the Committee for Economic Development and for the American Council for Capital Formation. Penner received his undergraduate degree from the University of Toronto and his doctorate degree in economics from the Johns Hopkins University.

Robert Reischauer, Ph.D., is a distinguished Institute fellow and president emeritus of the Urban Institute, which he led from 2000 to 2012. His research interests and expertise focus on the federal budget, health policy, Medicare, Social Security, and income distribution. Before joining Urban, Reischauer served as the director of the Congressional Budget Office from 1989 to 1995. Reischauer is one of two public trustees of the Social Security and Medicare Trust Funds and a founding member of the Academy of Social Insurance, which recognized him with the Robert M. Ball Award in 2012. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Science, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Academy of Public Administration. Reischauer, who serves on the boards of several nonprofit organizations, is the senior fellow of the Harvard Corporation. Reischauer holds an BA from Harvard University as well as an MA in international affairs and a PhD in economics from Columbia University.

Alice Rivlin, Ph.D., is currently a Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution and a visiting professor at the McCourt School of Public Policy at Georgetown. She was Director of the Office Management and Budget (OMB) in the first Clinton Administration (1993-96) and served as Vice Chair of the Federal Reserve Board (1996-1999). She was the Founding Director of the Congressional Budget Office (1975-83) and served as chair of the District of Columbia Financial Management and Assistance Authority (1998-2001). She was director of the Economic Studies Program at Brookings (1983-87). She also served at the Department of Health, Education and Welfare as Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (1968-69). In 2010, Rivlin was named by President Obama to the Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform and also co-chaired, with former Senator Pete Domenici, the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Task Force on Debt Reduction. She has also taught at Harvard and George Mason Universities, as well as The New School. She received a B.A. in economics from Bryn Mawr College and a Ph.D. from Radcliffe College (Harvard University) in economics.

The award was last presented in 2014 to Larry L. Orr of Johns Hopkins University. Previous Rossi award winners include Thomas C. Cook, Northwestern University; Howard Bloom, MDRC; Rebecca Maynard, University of Pennsylvania; and Grover (Russ) Whitehurst, Brookings Institution. Drs. Penner, Reischauer, and Rivlin will receive the award and present a guest lecture on Friday, November 4, at APPAM’s Fall Research Conference in Washington, DC.

The Rossi Award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi (1921–2006) by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The Rossi Award is presented for a recent paper, publication, or for an entire body of work that is recognized as an important contribution to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The selection committee is chaired by Douglas J. Besharov, University of Maryland, and includes two former presidents of APPAM and two past Rossi awardees, serving for staggered, three-year terms.

For further information about the Rossi Award, please visit .


Since its formation in 1979, the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM) has been dedicated to improving public policy and management by fostering excellence in research, analysis, and education. APPAM membership is comprised of academic institutions, practitioners, and students devoted to public policy education, development, and collaboration. 


« Back

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2020 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event