Thursday, March 26, 2020

#2020APPAM Submission Deadline Extended

APPAM is extending the deadline to April 24th, in an attempt to provide extra time to prepare proposals, considering the public health context.


APPAM Announces 2016 Kershaw Award Winner

September 22, 2016 10:15 AM

Award recognizes notable public policy analysis and management contributions

WASHINGTON, DC (September 22, 2016) — The Association of Public Policy and Management (APPAM) is pleased to announce that the 2016 David N. Kershaw Award Winner is Dr. Varun Rai of the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Rai will give a featured presentation during the 2016 Fall Research Conference on Friday, November 4. 
Dr. Varun Rai is an Associate Professor at the LBJ School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin, where he directs the Energy Systems Transformation Research Group. He is a Faculty Affiliate at UT Austin's Energy Institute. Prior to joining UT Austin in July 2010, he was a research fellow at the Program on Energy and Sustainable Development (PESD) at Stanford University from 2008-2010. Dr. Rai received his Ph.D. and MS in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University and a bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur.
Dr. Rai was a Global Economic Fellow in 2009 and has held the Elspeth Rostow Centennial Fellowship since 2010. In July 2013 he was appointed as a Commissioner for the vertically-integrated, municipal electric utility Austin Energy, City of Austin (Texas). Additionally, he serves on the Editorial Board of both The Electricity Journal (Elsevier) and Energy Research & Social Science (Elsevier), for which he is also an Associate Editor.
“On behalf of the award selection committee, I am proud to recognize Dr. Rai, who has made a path-breaking contribution to the field of energy policy as both a researcher and a practitioner,” stated Paul Decker, CEO of Mathematica Policy Research. “His work, which combines technological, scientific, and behavioral perspectives to generate important insights about the adoption of clean energy technologies, make him an ideal recipient of the 2016 Kershaw Award.” 
Funding for the David N. Kershaw award comes from a memorial endowment established following the death of David N. Kershaw and managed by independent trustees. David Kershaw was the first president of Mathematica Policy Research; he died of cancer at the age of 37. The award was established to honor persons who, at under the age of 40, have made a distinguished contribution to the field of public policy analysis and management. The award consists of a commemorative medal and a cash prize of $10,000. This prize is among the largest awards made to recognize contributions related to public policy and social science. Dr. Varun Rai is the 18th recipient of the Kershaw Award. 
For further information about the 2016 Fall Research Conference, please visit
Since its formation in 1979, the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM) has been dedicated to improving public policy and management by fostering excellence in research, analysis, and education. APPAM membership is comprised of academic institutions, practitioners, and students devoted to public policy education, development, and collaboration. 

« Back

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2020 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event