1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
APPAM - Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management

David N. Kershaw Award

The David N. Kershaw Award and Prize is offered every other year if a suitable recipient is identified. The award was established to honor persons who, at under the age of 40, have made a distinguished contribution to the field of public policy analysis and management. It consists of a commemorative medal and a cash prize of $10,000. This prize is among the largest awards made to recognize contributions related to public policy and social science.
David Kershaw was the first president of Mathematica Policy Research; he died of cancer at the age of 37. Funding for the award comes from a memorial endowment established following the death of David N. Kershaw and managed by independent trustees.
Nominations for the 2018 award are now closed.
A nominee must be under the age of 40 at the time the nomination is made (but not necessarily at the time the award is bestowed). A person may be nominated again if not selected for the current award. Any body of work will be considered, although the selection committee may, from time to time, decide to establish time limits for what may be considered. The selection committee may decide not to make an award in any particular year. Joint awards for a single contribution will be considered where the  contribution can be clearly identified and attributed.
Nominations may be made by any individual or organization. (Individuals may nominate their own work.) The letter of nomination (with the nominee's current address, email address, and phone number) should include a nominating essay, the c.v./resume of the nominee and written evidence of the nominee's contribution in the form of an article, book, report or other appropriate evidence. The latter requirement is to provide convincing evidence of the nominee's responsibility for the contribution identified. Nominations should be emailed to Paul Decker, President, Mathematica Policy Research, Inc. at kershaw2018@mathematica-mpr.com or sent by regular mail at PO Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, or by delivery service at 600 Alexander Park, Princeton, NJ 08540.
According to the rules governing the award endowment, the selection committee always consists of the president of Mathematica Policy Research, the president of APPAM, and the dean of the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University.

Prior Award Recipients

The prior winners, and their institutional affiliations at the time they won the award are as follows:
  • 1st award: Joseph Newhouse (Rand Corporation)
  • 2nd award: Lee Friedman (University of California at Berkeley)
  • 3rd award: David Ellwood (Harvard University)
  • 4th award: Deborah Freund (Indiana University)
  • 5th award: Katherine Swartz (Urban Institute)
  • 6th award: Rebecca Blank (Northwestern University)
  • 7th award: John DiIulio (Princeton University)
  • 8th award: Alan Krueger (Princeton University)
  • 9th award: Jonathan Caulkins (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • 10th award: James Hamilton (Duke University)
  • 11th award: David Cutler (Harvard University)
  • 12th award: Carolyn Heinrich (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • 13th award: Jens Ludwig (Georgetown University)
  • 14th award: Brian Jacob (University of Michigan) 
  • 15th award: Esther Duflo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • 16th award: John MacDonald (University of Pennsylvania)
  • 17th award: Donald Moynihan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • 18th award: Varun Rai (University of Texas at Austin)
© 2018 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.