APPAM Policy Council


The Policy Council is the Association's leadership team. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office; the APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM executive director and the editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting). At least two of the persons elected in each cohort must be practitioners.

Since 2005, APPAM's individual members elect seven new persons to the Council each year while APPAM's institutional members elect a total of four persons to serve on the Council. The Policy Council is responsible for setting policy and strategy for the association. Between meetings of the Policy Council, the Executive Committee (the officers, the executive director, and the editor of JPAM) is authorized to make tactical and implementation decisions for APPAM.
In addition to the Executive Committee, the members of the Policy Council are as follows:

Serving through 2014:

Sandra Danziger, University of Michigan
Susan Gooden, Virginia Commonwealth University
Rucker Johnson, University of California - Berkeley
Donald Moynihan, University of Wisconsin 
Juliet Musso, University of Southern California 
Colleen Shogan, Congressional Research Service (Institutional Representative)

Serving through 2015:

Scott Allard, University of Washington
Marcia (Marcy) Carlson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Swati Desai, Rockefeller Institute of Government
Barbara Devaney, Mathematica Policy Research (Institutional Representative)
Susan Dynarski,  University of Michigan
Joyce Manchester, Vermont Legislative Joint Fiscal Office

Serving through 2016:

Colleen Barry, John Hopkins University
Robert Kaestner, University of Illinois at Chicago
Mark Long, University of Washington
Laura Peck, Abt Associates
Lucie Schmidt, Williams College
Jodi Sandfort, University of Minnesota

Serving through 2017:

Charles Betsey, Howard University
Ron Haskins, Brookings Institution
Cynthia Osborne, University of Texas at Austin
Rachel Swanger, Pardee RAND Graduate School
Sarah Cordes, New York University (Student representative)
Stay Connected! Sign Up for Our Newsletter!
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management
1029 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 1150 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2014 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event