Policy Field Distinguished Contribution Award

The Policy Field Distinguished Contribution Award is meant to honor persons who have made significant and long-term contributions to the development of and growth of Public Policy Analysis and Management as a field. Such contributions can include (but are not limited to) critical or path-breaking research, core textbooks, substantial contribution to actual policymaking, significant contribution to APPAM as an organization, and significant contribution to JPAM. While not a lifetime achievement award, the purpose of this award is to recognize those who have sustained and contributed to our relatively young field over many years.

The review committee will be appointed by the APPAM President at the beginning of each year. They will be tasked with reviewing all applications and selecting that year’s recipient. 

Nominations will be collected each year. To be considered for the award, the application should include a letter of nomination, CV, and contact information and be sent by email to Emma Semaan at

The nomination is open now and has a deadline of July 15, 2022.

The recipient will be recognized in some manner at the conference and will receive a plaque. At minimum the recipient will be honored either at the Membership and Awards Breakfast or the Presidential Address, but an acceptance speech or lecture is not required. If space permits at a particular conference, and depending on the scope of the recipient’s work, a concurrent session may be offered.


2021 Policy Field Distinguished Contribution Award Winner










David Weimer
Edwin E. Witte Professor of Political Economy
Lafollette School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin, Madison


Lafollette School of Public Affairs, University of Wisconsin, Madison professor, David Weimer has been selected to receive the inaugural Policy Field Distinguished Contribution Award for his contributions to the field of public policy analysis and management. He is an accomplished scholar in policy craft and institutional design. Although most of his recent research has addressed issues in health policy, he has done policy-relevant research in the areas of energy security, natural resource policy, education, criminal justice, and research methods. He has authored articles in policy journals including the Journal of Benefit-Cost Analysis and APPAM's Journal, JPAM as well as numerous articles and chapters in core textbooks. Prof. Weimer is the first recipient of the award and will receive a plaque and recognition at future conferences. 

Learn more about his contributions here.