World Citizen Prizes in Environmental Performance

About the Award

Beginning with our 2019 conference in Denver, APPAM awards the World Citizen Prizes in Environmental Performance at the Annual Fall Research Conference. Granted by David and Joy K. Peyton, the award recognizes research that assesses pathways to achieve measurable but as-yet unrealized gains in overall environmental performance, in particular to reduce consumption and waste.  The research may be based on the United States or any other country or countries.

The award winner will each receive the following at the APPAM Annual Fall Research Conference in March 2022. 

  • A $2,500 prize in the form of a check made out to the winner.
  • Up to $500 in travel funds supporting attendance at the APPAM Annual Fall Research Conference.
  • A plaque with the award title, description, their name, and the year.
  • Recognition at an awards event at the conference.


2021 World Citizen Prizes in Environmental Performance Award Recipient


Dr. Marilyn A. Brown
School of Public Policy Chair
Georgia Institute of Technology

Dr. Marilyn A. Brown is Chair of the School of Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology where she created and co-leads the Climate and Energy Policy Lab and the Master of Sustainable Energy and Environmental Management. Her research focuses on the design and modeling of energy markets and carbon reduction policies and programs, highlighting opportunities on the customer side of the electric meter. In 2007, Dr. Brown contributed to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change reports that shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. She has served terms on committees including the U.S. Department of Energy’s Electricity Advisor Committee and has written nine books on the clean energy transition.

Learn more about her contributions here.

Previous Recipients

2020 - Dr. Sanya Carley, O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University.

2019 - Dr. Nathan Hultman, University of Maryland School of Public Policy, and Dr. Gregory Nemet, University of Wisconsin–Madison La Follette School of Public Affairs.