Peter H. Rossi Award

The 2020 Award

RBrown-01214The 2020 recipient of the Peter H. Rossi Award is Dr. Randall S. Brown of Mathematica. 

Dr. Brown is a senior fellow emeritus in the Health Research division at Mathematica, where he worked for 42 years, retiring in April of 2020.  He was Director of Health Research in the company’s Princeton office from 2005 to 2018, and a Vice President from 2005 to 2012.  Dr. Brown specializes in the evaluation design of complex interventions, focusing primarily on studies of care coordination, primary care reform, and long-term care, for Medicare and Medicaid populations. He has led many of the largest and most visible program evaluations funded by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) over the past 36 years. He continues to do part-time consulting.

Dr. Brown gave the Rossi lecture on November 12, at 2:00 PM Eastern, during the 2020 APPAM Fall Research Conference, which was held virtually, November 11- 13. 

About the Award

The APPAM Policy Council approved the Peter H. Rossi Award, for Contributions to the Theory or Practice of Program Evaluation, on April 8, 2005. Funding for the award comes from an endowment managed by the University System of Maryland Foundation, Inc. This endowment welcomes additional donations. The University of Maryland School of Public Policy hosts a separate website for the Rossi Award: welfareacademy.org/rossi.

The Rossi award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi (1921–2006) by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The award may be for a recent paper, publication, or for an entire body of work. The letter of nomination for 2020 (with the nominee’s current address, e-mail address, and phone number) should detail the work’s contributions to the field of evaluation and should include the paper or relevant parts of the body of work.

The Rossi Award is given out every other year.

Prior Recipients of the Rossi Award

  • 2018: Mark Lipsey, Vanderbilt University
  • 2016: Rudolph Penner, Robert Reischauer, and Alice Rivlin, Congressional Budget Office
  • 2014: Larry L. Orr, Johns Hopkins University
  • 2012: Thomas D. Cook, Northwestern University
  • 2010: Howard Bloom, MDRC
  • 2009: Rebecca Maynard, University of Pennsylvania
  • 2008: Judith Gueron, MDRC
  • 2007: Grover (Russ) Whitehurst, U.S. Institute of Education Sciences
  • 2006: Rob Hollister, Swarthmore College
  • 2005: Frederick Mosteller, Harvard University