David N. Kershaw Award

About the Award

KershawLogo3The David N. Kershaw Award and Prize was established to honor persons who, before the age of 40, have made distinguished contributions to the field of public policy analysis and management. This award seeks to recognize original contributions to research-based knowledge that have advanced the design, implementation, and evaluation of public policies. Eligibility is not contingent on disciplinary background, policy focus or academic credentials.

The 2021 Award and Prize will be presented prominently at the Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management’s (APPAM’s) 2021 Annual Conference, which will be held in Austin, Texas, November 11-13, 2021. The recipient will receive a cash prize of $20,000 at the Awards and Opening Plenary.

This prize is among the most prestigious and largest awards recognizing contributions to public policy and social science. Funding for the award comes from a memorial endowment established following the death of David N. Kershaw and managed by independent trustees.

The precise age cut-off is having a 40th birthday after Dec 31st of the year prior to the award.

In 2021 a nominating committee will generate a short list of finalists, and the final awardee will be chosen by the selection committee. The members of the selection committee for the 2021 award are Paul Decker, President and CEO Mathematica, Sherry Glied, APPAM President, and the incoming Princeton University School of International and Public Affairs Dean. The members of the nomination committee are Kosali Simon (chair), Rebecca Maynard, Raphael Bostic, Diane Schanzenbach, Don Moynihan, and Scott Allard.

The 2021 Award nomination period is open now and will end on May 31st, 2021 June 7th, 2021 (EXTENDED DEADLINE). Starting with 2021, the Kershaw award is presented on an annual basis, rather than biennially as before. 

To nominate someone please fill out this form.

Prior Award Recipients

The prior winners, and their institutional affiliations at the time they won the award are as follows:

  • 1st award: Joseph Newhouse (Rand Corporation)
  • 2nd award: Lee Friedman (University of California at Berkeley)
  • 3rd award: David Ellwood (Harvard University)
  • 4th award: Deborah Freund (Indiana University)
  • 5th award: Katherine Swartz (Urban Institute)
  • 6th award: Rebecca Blank (Northwestern University)
  • 7th award: John DiIulio (Princeton University)
  • 8th award: Alan Krueger (Princeton University)
  • 9th award: Jonathan Caulkins (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • 10th award: James Hamilton (Duke University)
  • 11th award: David Cutler (Harvard University)
  • 12th award: Carolyn Heinrich (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • 13th award: Jens Ludwig (Georgetown University)
  • 14th award: Brian Jacob (University of Michigan)
  • 15th award: Esther Duflo (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • 16th award: John MacDonald (University of Pennsylvania)
  • 17th award: Donald Moynihan (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • 18th award: Varun Rai (University of Texas at Austin)
  • 19th award: David J. Deming (Harvard University)
  • 20th award: Kirabo Jackson (Northwestern University)