Policy Council

The Policy Council is the Association's leadership team. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office; the APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM executive director and the editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting).

Since 2013, APPAM's individual members elect three new people to the Council each year while APPAM's institutional members elect one person to serve on the Council. The three-person cohort consists of: 1) a member working in an academic setting; 2) an early career member working in an academic setting (early career is difined as being withing 10 years of receipt of the terminal degree); and 3) a member working in a non-academic setting. To read about the roles and disciplines of these individuals, please visit the Bylaws page of this site.

The term is 4 years with elections held each December. Serving on the Council is a great opportunity to become more engaged in APPAM activities and make decisions that impact the strategic direction of the organization. The Policy Council meets twice a year and all Council Members serve on at least one committee throughout the year. The Policy Council is responsible for setting policy and strategy for the association. Between meetings of the Policy Council, the Executive Committee (the officers, the executive director, and the editor of JPAM) is authorized to make tactical and implementation decisions for APPAM.

APPAM is committed to building a culture of diversity in its leadership. We strongly encourage members of underrepresented groups to consider running for the Policy Council. Nominations are open each summer.

Click here for a listing of APPAM Officers.

In addition to the Executive Committee, the members of the Policy Council are as follows:

Due to a delay in the APPAM Election, the next cohort will be posted at the conclusion of the election in mid-April.

Serving through 2022:

Heather_Hill Heather Hill, University of Washington (researcher in an academic setting)
Elections_-_Bradley_Hardy Bradley Hardy, Georgetown University (researcher in an academic setting, early career)
Liana_Fox Liana Fox, Census Bureau (researcher in a non-academic setting)
BRUBAKER Sarah Jane Brubaker, Virginia Commonwealth University (institutional representative)
JS_Headshot Jose Scott, University of Southern California (student representative 2021-2022)


Serving through 2023:

Anil_Deolalikar_headshot Anil Deolalikar, University of California, Riverside (researcher in an academic setting)
Marci_Ybarra_-_Ramon_edit Marci Ybarra, University of Chicago (researcher in an academic setting)
Jillian_Berk Jillian Berk, Mathematica Policy Research (researcher in a non-academic setting)
Jane_Lincove_headshot Jane Lincove, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (institutional representative)


Serving through 2024:

Click here for more info on the recently elected Policy Council members


Lisa Gennetian, Duke University (researcher in an academic setting


Jason Coupet, North Carolina State University (researcher in an academic setting, early career)

DMcCallum-12191 Diana McCallum, Mathematica  (researcher in a non-academic setting) 

Shazia Miller, NORC at University of Chicago (institutional representative)