Peter H. Rossi Award

Peter H. Rossi Award, for Contributions to the Theory or Practice of Program Evaluation 
The APPAM Policy Council approved this award on April 8, 2005. Funding for the award comes from an endowment managed by the University System of Maryland Foundation, Inc. This endowment welcomes additional donations. The University of Maryland School of Public Policy hosts a separate website for the Rossi Award,
The Rossi Award is given out every other year. The award was presented in 2016 to Rudolph Penner, Ph.D., Robert Reischauer, Ph.D., and Alice Rivlin, Ph.D. at the 2016 Fall Research Conference. Read more about the winners.
The Rossi award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi (1921–2006) by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The award may be for a recent paper, publication, or for an entire body of work.
The 2016 winners received a plaque, recognition at the 2016 APPAM Fall Research Conference, reimbursement for travel expenses to the meeting, and a cash award in the amount of $2,000.
Any recent paper, publication or entire body of work will be considered however, the selection committee may, from time to time, decide to establish time limits for what may be considered. When appropriate, joint awards will be made for co-authored works or joint products. The paper, publication, or body of work may involve any aspect of planning, conducting, or analyzing evaluations of social programs and may be directed to lay or professional audiences. The work should reflect the importance of precision and objectivity in setting the evaluation framework, design, execution, and reporting, as well as the value of evidence-based presentation or translation for varied audiences. Illustrative examples include works on the state of evaluation or knowledge in a particular substantive field, new approaches to program evaluation, and program evaluation and its role in the political decision-making process. 
The selection committee is chaired by Douglas J. Besharov, University of Maryland, and includes two former presidents of APPAM and two past Rossi awardees, to serve for staggered, three-year terms.
Nominations may be made by any individual or organization. (Individuals may nominate their own work.) The letter of nomination (with the nominee’s current address, e-mail address, and phone number) should detail the work’s contributions to the field of evaluation and should include the paper or relevant parts of the body of work. Nominations should be e-mailed to Professor Besharov,
Prior Recipients of the Rossi Award:
2016: Rudolph Penner, Robert Reischauer, and Alice Rivlin, Congressional Budget Office
2014: Larry L. Orr, Johns Hopkins University
2012: Thomas D. Cook, Northwestern University
2010: Howard Bloom, MDRC
2009: Rebecca Maynard, University of Pennsylvania
2008: Judith Gueron, MDRC
2007: Grover (Russ) Whitehurst, U.S. Institute of Education Sciences
2006: Rob Hollister, Swarthmore College
2005: Frederick Mosteller, Harvard University
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2018 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event