Steven D. Gold Award


APPAM approved this award in 1997 when the Policy Council adopted a policy for the creation of awards in recognition or memory of a specific person. That policy states that the association will not use operating funds to support honoraria for such awards. Accordingly, this award does not offer an honorarium. This is the only award offered through APPAM that also is offered by other associations in the public policy and management field.

The Steve Gold Award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to public financial management in the field of intergovernmental relations and state and local finance. The award is given annually by APPAM, the National Conference of State Legislatures, and the National Tax Association, in memory of Steve Gold, an active member of all three organizations whose career and life tragically were shortened by illness.

Winners of the Steve Gold Award receive a plaque and recognition at the annual conference of the specific organization that chairs the selection committee. 
The sponsoring organizations rotate in chairing the selection committee. The sponsoring organizations rotate in chairing the selection committee. APPAM will convene the selection committee for the 2017 award. The selection committee may decide not to make an award in any particular year. 

Award Recipients

2016: Jonathan Ball, Utah Legislative Fiscal Analyst
2014: Ronald C. Fisher, Michigan State University
2013: Stephen Klein, Vermont Joint Fiscal Office

2012: David Sjoquist of Georgia State University
2011: Andrew Reschovsky, University of Wisconsin-Madison, La Follette School of Public Affairs
2010: Gary Olson, Director of the Michigan Senate Fiscal Agency
2009: George Zodrow, Rice University
2008: Elizabeth Hill, California Legislative Analysts Office
2007: Robert Lang, Director of the Wisconsin Legislative Fiscal Bureau
2006: Gary Cornia, Brigham Young University
2005: Robert Strauss, Carnegie Mellon University
2004: David Crotts, Chief Economist, State of North Carolina Legislature
2003: William Fox, University of Tennessee-Knoxville
2002: Helen Ladd, Duke University
2001: Robert Keaton, Chief Budget Analyst and Director of the State Senate Fiscal Office, State of Louisiana
2000: Robert Ebel, World Bank Institute
1999: Robert Greenstein and Iris Lav, Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
1998: Victor Vernon, Chief Legislative Fiscal Officer, State of Alabama
1997: John Shannon, The Urban Institute
Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2017 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event