Monday, March 30, 2020

Michael Wiseman, longtime APPAM member, passes away

APPAM mourns the loss of distinguished member Prof. Michael Wiseman, a Research Professor of Public Policy, Public Administration, and Economics at the GW Institute of Public Policy.


Introducing APPAM's Incoming 2020 Policy Council Members

The Policy Council is APPAM's governing board and is responsible for setting policy and creating strategy for the Association. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office.

Ballots were sent to all APPAM members and voting was held December 16, 2019 through January 15, 2020. Please welcome our incoming Policy Council. Thank you to all our members for voting.

Among the four person cohort for the Policy Council, one is a researcher in a non-academic setting, one is an institutional representative elected by the Committee of Institutional Representatives, and two are researchers in academic settings. All will serve four-year terms. Congratulations to Anil Deolalikar, University of California, Riverside (researcher in an academic setting), Marci Ybarra, University of Chicago (researcher in an academic setting), Jillian Berk, Mathematica Policy Research (researcher in a non-academic setting) and Jane Lincove, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (institutional representative).

The APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM Executive Director and the Editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting) comprise the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is also part of the Policy Council. Newly elected to the Executive Committee are Sherry Glied, New York University, as President-Elect for a one-year term concluding with her appointment to APPAM President following our 2020 Fall Research Conference; Kosali Simon, Indiana University, as Vice President for a two-year term; and Laura Peck, Abt Associates, as Secretary for a two-year term. Read APPAM's interview with Sherry Glied here.

Finally, one student has been appointed by the APPAM President, Maria Cancian, and the Chair of the Institutional Representatives, Alison Jacknowitz, to serve a two-year term on the Policy Council through 2020. Congratulations to Zachary McDermott of New York University on this appointment. 

We are excited to see our newly-elected officials help APPAM grow in its service to the public policy community over the coming years!


« Back

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2020 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event