Friday, March 27, 2020

APPAM Virtual Happy Hour 4/3

Join Sherry Glied, Dean NYU/Wagner School and Kosali Simon, Associate Provost for Health Sciences at Indiana University/SPEA in this virtual happy hour. Policy talk, optional!


APPAM Announces the 2018 Policy Council Nominees

November 3, 2017 05:19 PM

APPAM announced the slate of nominees for the 2018 Policy Council during the Membership Luncheon on Friday, November 3.

APPAM’s Policy Council serves as the organization’s board of directors, with council members serving for 4-year terms. Ballots will open in December for member voting.

President-Elect, Matthew Stagner, Mathematica Policy Research

Stagner, director of Mathematica’s Chicago office, is a nationally known expert on youth development and risk behaviors, child welfare, teen pregnancy prevention, evaluation design, and the role of research in policymaking. His work focuses on policies and programs for vulnerable youth, such as those transitioning out of foster care.

Prior to joining Mathematica, Stagner served as executive director of Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago and as a senior lecturer at the Irving B. Harris School of Public Policy Studies. Stagner also served as director of the Center on Labor, Human Services, and Population at the Urban Institute and director of the Division of Children and Youth Policy in the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).

Stagner holds a PhD from the University of Chicago Irving B. Harris School of Public Policy Studies.

Vice President, Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter, Vanderbilt University

Carpenter, a professor of economics at Vanderbilt University, studies the effects of public policy interventions on health behaviors, particularly in the areas of substance use and cancer screenings. His current research examines the effects of minimum legal drinking ages in the United States and other countries as well as the effects of federal funding for cancer screenings for low-income populations.

He is also an expert on LGBT economic demography. Carpenter holds a PhD in Economics from the University of California-Berkeley.

Secretary, Michael Shires, Pepperdine University 

Shires is an associate professor of public policy at Pepperdine University. His primary areas of teaching and research include state, regional, and local policy; technology and democracy; higher education policy; strategic, political, and organizational issues in public policy; and quantitative analysis. He has been an active consultant to local and state government on issues related to finance, education policy, and governance.

Prior to joining the Pepperdine faculty, Shires was a research fellow at the Public Policy Institute of California and a doctoral fellow at Pardee RAND's Graduate School of Policy Studies, concentrating on domestic education policy, California fiscal policy, and international trade policy. He holds a PhD from Pardee RAND Graduate School.

Additional Policy Council Nominees

Working in an academic setting, voting members will choose two:

  • Alok Bhargava, University of Maryland
  • Amelie F. Constant, Princeton University
  • JR DeShazo, UCLA
  • Ronald Fisher, Michigan State University
  • Shanti Gamper-Rabindran, University of Pittsburgh
  • James Marton, Georgia State University
  • Rebecca Myerson, University of Southern California
  • Doug Noonan, Indiana University, IUPUI
  • Cynthia Osborne, University of Texas – Austin

Working in a non-academic setting, voting members will choose one:

  • Misty Heggeness, Census Bureau
  • Rob Olsen, Independent Consultant/GW
  • Trudi Renwick, Census Bureau
  • Sheena Trull, National Council of La Raza

« Back

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2020 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event