Friday, March 27, 2020

APPAM Virtual Happy Hour 4/3

Join Sherry Glied, Dean NYU/Wagner School and Kosali Simon, Associate Provost for Health Sciences at Indiana University/SPEA in this virtual happy hour. Policy talk, optional!


Student Coverage: 2016 APPAM Annual Membership Meeting and Awards Lunch

Tori Rockwell, MPA Candidate, Daniel J. Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, University of Washington

This afternoon the APPAM community continued its yearly tradition of coming together to attend to important association business, as well as celebrate the great contributions of its members to the advancement of our field. 
Association leaders including Jane Waldfogel and 2016 President-Elect Carolyn Heinrich conducted membership-meeting proceedings first. Various agenda items were covered, such as the Nominating Committee and the Recognition of Programming Committee for this year’s fall conference. 
Arguably the highlight of today’s lunch was the Keynote Address given by 2016 Exemplar Award Winner, Demetra Nightingale. Dr. Nightingale has dedicated her career to optimizing the policies that impact Americans through program evaluation. Her talk was an insightful synthesis of academic and government perspectives on evidence-based policy. Five core principles of evaluation were outlined: rigor, independence, transparency, ethics, and relevance. Drawing closely on her experiences as the current Chief Evaluation Officer at the Department of Labor, she demonstrated how these concepts translate into a concrete learning agenda. In closing, Dr. Nightingale encouraged APPAM members and the policy community at large to remember that evidence-based research does not exist in one single disciplinary or methodological domain. She also stressed exercising patience in efforts to shape of effective government policies with research. 
Lunch concluded with the presentation of three awards recognizing other extraordinary achievements within the world of policy analysis and management. First, the PhD Dissertation Award was given to Vincent Reina of the University of Southern California, for his dissertation titled “Impact of Mobility and Government Subsidies on Household Welfare and Rents.” Next, the Raymond Vernon Memorial Prize recognizing the best article published in the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management was awarded to Kerri Raissan of the University of Connecticut, for her paper titled “Hold Your Fire: Did the 1996 Federal Gun Control Act Expansion Reduce Domestic Homicides?” Finally, for his paper titled “Toward a Comparative Analysis of Labour Administration Systems,” Jason Heyes of the University of Sheffield received the International Comparative Policy Analysis (ICPA)/Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis (JCPA) Award for Research in Comparative Policy Analysis.

« Back

Association for Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM)
NEW ADDRESS! 1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650 Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Subscribe to me on YouTube

Home|About APPAM|Membership|Public Policy News|Conference & Events|Publications| Awards|Careers & Education|Members Only

Web site design and web site development by

© 2020 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.
Site Map | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Events | Add Your Event