1100 Vermont Avenue, NW, Suite 650
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202.496.0130 | Fax: 202.496.0134
APPAM - Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management

APPAM Policy Council

The Policy Council is the Association's leadership team. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office; the APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM executive director and the editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting).

Since 2013, APPAM's individual members elect three new people to the Council each year while APPAM's institutional members elect one person to serve on the Council. To read about the roles and disciplines of these individuals, please visit the Bylaws page of this site.

The Policy Council is responsible for setting policy and strategy for the association. Between meetings of the Policy Council, the Executive Committee (the officers, the executive director, and the editor of JPAM) is authorized to make tactical and implementation decisions for APPAM.

Click here for a listing of APPAM Officers.

In addition to the Executive Committee, the members of the Policy Council are as follows:
Serving through 2017:
Charles Betsey, Howard University
Cynthia Osborne, University of Texas at Austin
Rachel Swanger, Pardee RAND Graduate School (institutional representative)
Serving though 2018:

Jason Fletcher, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sherry Glied, New York University
John Martinez, MDRC (institutional representative)
H. Elizabeth Peters, The Urban Institute (practitioner representative)


Serving though 2019:

Jenni Owen, Duke University
Kosali Simon, Indiana University
Samuel Myers, University of Minnesota (institutional representative)
Stephen Bell, Abt Associates (practitioner representative)
David Morar, George Mason University (student representative, serving through 2017)


Keshia Pollack, Johns Hopkins University
Dylan Conger, George Washington University
Heather Campbell, Claremont Graduate College (institutional representative)
Molly Irwin, US Department of Labor (practitioner representative)
Joaquin Rubalcaba, University of New Mexico (student representative, serving through 2018)

© 2017 Association for Public Policy Analysis & Management. All Rights Reserved.