News & Publications



#2020APPAM Awards Noms Open


The #2020APPAM Fall Research Conference in November 2020 will feature a full slate of Awards. While some nomination periods have passed alongside our submission deadline, there are still some open, the Equity and Inclusion Fellowship, the PhD Dissertation Award, as well as the Peter H. Rossi and the Steven D. Gold Awards. 


The Equity and Inclusion Fellowship supports the travel and participation of up to 40 students from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds at the APPAM Fall Research Conference. While at the conference, the fellowship recipients will have the opportunity to formally network with each other and with members of the Policy Council and Diversity Committee, recognizing them, their accomplishments and bright futures. 

Deadline: May 29

More information and how to apply, here.

The PhD Dissertation Award seeks to recognize emergent scholars in the field by presenting an award for the best PhD dissertation in public policy and management. Dissertations from any discipline are acceptable as long as they deal substantively with public policy issues.Winners receive a cash award in the amount of $1,500 in addition to a plaque, recognition at the annual Fall Research Conference, and publication of an abstract in the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (JPAM). A separate grant covering travel costs to the Fall Research Conference will also be provided.

Deadline: July 10

More information, eligibility criteria and nomination process, here.

The Peter H. Rossi Award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi (1921–2006) by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. The award may be for a recent paper, publication, or for an entire body of work. The winner will give a talk during a dedicated session at the annual APPAM Fall Research Conference, and will receive a plaque, reimbursement for travel expenses to the meeting, and a cash award in the amount of $2,000.

Deadline: July 17

More information, eligibility criteria and nomination process, here.

The Steven D. Gold Award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to public financial management in the field of intergovernmental relations and state and local finance.The award is given annually by APPAM, the National Conference of State Legislatures, and the National Tax Association, in memory of Steve Gold, an active member of all three organizations whose career and life tragically were shortened by illness. Winners of the Steve Gold Award receive a plaque and recognition at the annual conference of the specific organization that chairs the selection committee. APPAM is chairing the selection committee in 2020.

Deadline: July 17

More information, eligibility criteria and nomination process, here.

The World Citizen Prizes in Environmental Performance, granted by David and Joy K. Peyton, the awards recognize research that assesses pathways to achieve measurable but as-yet unrealized gains in overall environmental performance, in particular to reduce consumption and waste.The annual award winner(s) will each receive, a $2,500 prize in the form of a check made out to the winner; up to $500 in travel funds supporting attendance at the APPAM Annual Fall Research Conference; a plaque with the award title, description, their name, and the year; and recognition at an awards event at the conference.

Deadline: August 30

More information, eligibility criteria and nomination process, here.

Back to news