News & Publications



Introducing APPAM's Incoming 2021 Policy Council Members


The Policy Council is APPAM's governing board and is responsible for setting policy and creating strategy for the Association. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office.

Ballots were sent to all APPAM members and voting was held December 15, 2020 through January 14, 2021. Please welcome our incoming Policy Council. Thank you to all our members for voting.

Among the four person cohort for the Policy Council, one is a researcher in a non-academic setting; one is an institutional representative selected by the Committee of Institutional Representatives; and two are researchers who work in academic settings, one of which is early career (within 10 years of their terminal degree). All will serve four-year terms.

The APPAM President-Elect is John Martinez, of MDRC, for a one-year term concluding with his appointment to APPAM President following our 2021 Fall Research Conference. Martinez is MDRC Director of Program Development, and has been with the company since 1997. With APPAM he has served on the Policy Council as Vice-President and Institutional Member Representative. His nomination came during the 2020 Virtual Fall Research Conference.

APPAM President Sherry Glied, Dean of New York University's Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, writes "I am thrilled to be working with the Policy Council, and am especially delighted to welcome the fantastic new Council members who have dedicated their time in service of the organization this year. Our common goal is to promote the mission of APPAM, and this year, 2021, as the world is slowly opening back up, provides us a prime opportunity to make sure that our work is as meaningful and impactful as it can be."

Congratulations to:


Lisa Gennetian, Duke University (researcher in an academic setting)


Jason Coupet, North Carolina State University (researcher in an academic setting, early career)

DMcCallum-12191 Diana McCallum, Mathematica  (researcher in a non-academic setting) 

Shazia Miller, NORC at University of Chicago (institutional representative)


The APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM Executive Director and the Editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting) comprise the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is also part of the Policy Council.

Elected to the Executive Committee are:

John_Martinez John Martinez, MDRC, as President-Elect for a one-year term concluding with his appointment to APPAM President following our 2021 Fall Research Conference
osbornecynthia Cynthia Osborne, University of Texas, as Vice President for a two-year term 
Molly_Irwin Molly Irwin, Pew Charitable Trusts, as Treasurer for a two-year term


In addition, one student was appointed by the APPAM President, Sherry Glied, and the Chair of the Institutional Representatives, Alison Jacknowitz, American University, to serve a two-year term on the Policy Council through 2022. Congratulations to Jose Scott, PhD Student at the University of Southern California.

We are excited to see our newly-elected officials help APPAM grow in its service to the public policy community over the coming years!

Back to news