News & Publications



#2020APPAM Award Recipients


While the 2020 APPAM Fall Conference is going virtual, APPAM is very pleased to present you the full slate of awardees for 2020. Most awardees will be celebrated during the Awards and Opening Plenary at 3:00PM on Wednesday November 11th.

Steven D. Gold Award

The Steven D. Gold Award 2020 recipient is Robert Costrell. The Steven D. Gold Award recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to public financial management in the field of intergovernmental relations and state and local finance. Robert Costrell is Professor of Education Reform and Economics and holds the Endowed Chair in Education Accountability at the University of Arkansas, and has had a long and very impactful career. Learn more about the award and Dr. Costrell's work here.

PhD Dissertation Award

The 2020 PhD Dissertation Award for Best Dissertation in Public Policy and Management will be presented to Cody Tuttle. Cody Tuttle, currently at Princeton University, earned his Ph.D. in economics from the University of Maryland in May 2020, under the supervision of Professor Melissa Kearney. His dissertation, entitled "Government Responses to Crime and Racial Inequality" covers multiple salient topics. Find out more about Cody Tuttle's dissertation here. The 2020 Honorable Mentions were received by Theresa Anderson, from George Washington University, for "What If Mom Went Back to School? A Mixed Methods Study of Effects and Experiences for Both Generations When Mothers Return to School" currently at Urban Institute, and Andrew Bacher-Hicks from Harvard University, for "Essays on the Economics of Education" currently at Boston University.

Peter H. Rossi Award

The 2020 recipient of the Peter H. Rossi Award is Randall S. Brown of Mathematica. The Rossi award honors the lifetime achievements of Peter Rossi (1921–2006) by recognizing important contributions to the theory or practice of program evaluation. Dr. Brown is a senior fellow emeritus in the Health Research division at Mathematica, where he worked for 42 years, retiring in April of 2020. Randall Brown will give the Rossi lecture on Thursday, November 12, at 2:00 PM Eastern, during #2020APPAM.

World Citizen Prize in Environmental Performance

The 2020 World Citizen Prize in Environmental Performance goes to Sanya Carley of the O’Neill School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University for her writings on global climate disruption and on her publications on decarbonization. Find out more about Sanya Carley's work and her selection here.

Raymond Vernon Memorial Award

The 2020 Raymond Vernon Memorial Award is awarded to the article Nudging Early Reduces Administrative Burden: Three Field Experiments to Improve Code Enforcement by Elizabeth Linos, Lisa T. Quan and Elspeth Kirkman, in the Winter 2020 Issue of JPAM. Find out more about their article here. APPAM seeks to recognize excellence in research by annually selecting a research paper published in the current volume of the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management to receive the Vernon Memorial Prize.

APPAM/Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis Award

The 2020 APPAM/Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis Award will be presented to the paper: The Political Development of Public Policy - Political Controversy, Partisanship, and Health Care for the Poor: A Comparative Analysis of U.S. Policies, 1965-1989 by Emily Parker of Cornell University. APPAM & the ICPA-Forum seeks to reward and encourage excellence in comparative policy analysis as represented in research papers delivered at APPAM's annual Fall Research Conference. Find out more about the 2020 recipient here

Equity and Inclusion Fellowship

The fellowship, as everything else this year, was changed. APPAM has awarded 20 fellowships—instead of the usual 40—to be recognized at the 2020 Annual Fall Research Conference, that will be held virtually in November. The 20 Fellows will also have the opportunity to attend and be recognized at the 2021 APPAM Fall Research Conference in Austin, along with the 40 fellows that will be awarded in 2021. Check out the full list, along with their bios and headshots here.

David N. Kershaw Award

Northwestern University professor Kirabo Jackson has been selected to receive the David N. Kershaw Award and Prize for his contributions to the field of public policy analysis and management. Dr. Jackson is the Abraham Harris Professor of Education and Social Policy, and Faculty Fellow with the Institute for Policy Research at the Northwestern University. He is a very accomplished scholar in the education policy area, with numerous publications and conference presentations, and his work focuses primarily on better understanding teacher labor markets. The award, consisting of a commemorative sculpture and a $20,000 cash prize, is offered every other year. Dr. Jackson will give the Kershaw lecture on Thursday, November 12, at 1:00 PM Eastern, during #2020APPAM.

Back to news