2016 Fellowship Recipients

In an effort to encourage participation by underrepresented students in APPAM and its activities, the Policy Council and APPAM’s Diversity Committee created the ‘APPAM Equity and Inclusion Fellowship’ in April 2016.


The fellowship supported the travel and participation of 25 students from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds at the  2016 APPAM Fall Research Conference, November 3 - 5, in Washington, D.C. While at the conference, the fellowship recipients had the opportunity to formally network with each other and with members of the Policy Council and Diversity Committee at a Fellowship Breakfast, recognizing them, their accomplishments and bright futures. They will also had many opportunities to informally network with other students and professionals during the conference. In 2016, the Diversity Committee received nearly 100 applications submitted by Master's and Ph.D. students from schools around the world. The goal of this fellowship program is to introduce recipients to the world of public policy and APPAM, and foster a lifelong affiliation and engagement with both.

The 2016 Fellowship Breakfast program started with a welcome from APPAM President, Ron Haskins, Brookings Institution, followed by the presentation of awards by APPAM Diversity Committee Chair, John Martinez, MDRC. Maya Shankar, a Senior Advisor at the White House, former Behavioral Science Advisor to the United Nations, and former post-doctoral fellow in cognitive neuroscience at Stanford University, delivered a keynote address on her experiences in the public policy field. Maya received her Ph.D. from Oxford University on a Rhodes Scholarship and a B.A. from Yale University.

The following individuals are the honored 2016 Equity and Inclusion Fellowship Recipients:

Sebawit Bishu

Florida International University

Ofronama Biu

The New School

Sade Bonilla

Stanford Graduate School of Education

Roger J. Chin

Claremont Graduate University

Caroline Dolce

SUNY Downstate School of Public Health

Marley Frazier

University of Texas at Austin, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs

Matthew Gaskin

Texas A & M, The Bush School of Government and Public Service

Renada Goldberg

University of Minnesota

Lanikque Howard

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Ying Huang

University at Albany, State University of New York

Zoranna Jones

University of Texas at Arlington

Straso Jovanoski

Rutgers University, Camden

Amieris Lavender

Michigan State University

Zhanyl Moldalieva

United Nations University/Maastricht Graduate School of Governance

Sophie Morse

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

David Okereke

Rutgers University, Camden

Ashley Price

University of Missouri

Thalya Yanell Reyes

Rutgers University, Bloustein School

Tori Lynne Rockwell

University of Washington

Roman Ruiz

University of Pennsylvania

Nara Sainthil

Baruch College

Anthony Villarreal

San Diego State University

Lorin Washington

University of Texas - Arlington

Vaughn Williams

University of Michigan

Annia Yoshizumi

University of California Los Angeles Luskin School of Public Affairs