News & Publications



Introducing APPAM's 2024 Policy Council Members


The Policy Council is APPAM's governing board and is responsible for setting policy and creating strategy for the Association. It currently consists of four elected cohorts serving staggered, four-year terms of office.

Ballots were sent to all APPAM members and voting was held December 18, 2023 through January 18, 2024. Please welcome our incoming Policy Council members. Thank you to all our members for voting.

Among the four person cohort for the Policy Council, one is a researcher in a non-academic setting; one is an institutional representative elected by the Committee of Institutional Representatives; and two are researchers in an academic setting. All will serve four-year terms. 

The APPAM President-Elect is Ingrid Ellen of New York University, who will serve a one-year term concluding with his appointment to APPAM President following our 2024 Fall Research Conference. Her nomination came during the 2023 Fall Research Conference.

Congratulations to:


Lindsey Bullinger, Georgia Institute of Technology (researcher in an academic setting)


Karin Martin, University of Washington (researcher in an academic setting)

Jonathan_Schwabish Jonathan Schwabish, Urban Institute (researcher in a non-academic setting) 

Philip Armour, RAND Corporation (Pardee RAND Graduate School institutional representative)


The APPAM officers (ex officio voting); the APPAM Executive Director and the Editor of JPAM (ex-officio non-voting) comprise the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is also part of the Policy Council.

Elected to the Executive Committee are:

Ingrid_Ellen Ingrid Ellen, New York University, as President-Elect for a one-year term concluding with her appointment to APPAM President following our 2024 Fall Research Conference
Stephanie_Moulton Stephanie Moulton, Ohio State University, as Vice President for a two-year term 
Jillian_Berk Jillian Berk, Mathematica, as Secretary for a two-year term


In addition, one student was appointed by the APPAM President, Don Moynihan, Georgetown University, and the Chair of the Institutional Representatives, Mark Long, University of California, Riverside, to serve a two-year term on the Policy Council through 2025. Congratulations to Lauren Toppenberg from Columbia University!

We are excited to see our newly-elected officials help APPAM grow in its service to the public policy community over the coming years!

Back to news